Half to Full

My half marathon was two weeks ago.  I didn’t get the PR I had hoped for, but I did PR for that particular race.  So a big WIN in my book!  I know it’s been a while since I posted, and I’m sorry.  Life got in the way…and it’s no excuse…but I’m using it as one!

So I’ve done 5 half marathons now.  I have loved every single on of them!  Now I think I’ll try my hand at a full marathon!  SCARY!  This type of training is going to be way more intensive then the half-marathon training.  I’m not quite sure how I’m going to approach this…but I think I’ll start with some light reading.  It’s what I do best!

I have 2 options…one is a traditional training guide to marathon training and the second is a new approach to marathon training.  The first book is Marathon:  The Ultimate Training Guide Advice, Plans, and Programs for Half and Full Marathons and the second book is Runner’s World Run Less, Run Faster by Bill Pierce, Scott Muhr, and Ray Moss.

The second was actually recommended to me by a colleague and it seems very intriguing.  The traditional training in a build-up of mileage with four runs in a week.  This training is three runs a week with shorter distances but more intense runs.  You build speed and endurance that will carry you through 26.2 miles.

So those are the two books I’ll be trying out.  I know I will over analyze this stuff to the point of exhaustion…but I guess that’s just my tendency.  I want to be prepared and know what I’m getting myself into…that’s a lot of mileage!  So stay tuned…I’ll post more about this in later days!!

Leave a Reply

