The Beginning

At the beginning of February, I realized I had only 3 months to train for my next half-marathon. What?  Three months?  That’s forever!!  Well when running 13.1 miles…3 months can feel like 3 weeks.  Ugh…okay…just do it…commit to a training program for 3 months.

And so it begins…on Feb 9 I told myself that I was going to take this training thing seriously for 3 months, and at the end I would get a nice big sundae as a reward.  Well…I’ve already had my sundae…and progress has been imperfect at best.

So I bought this book, “The Runner’s Diet,” by Madelyn H. Fernstrom, because it’s so much easier to run when you don’t have to worry about the gut rumbles.  To make it absurdly simple, to get the best performance possible, a runner’s diet should have 50% carbs, 25% protein, and 25% fat.  It’s also necessary to eat these nutrients at the right time of day.  Protein in the morning and afternoon to satisfy hunger, and carbs in the evenings to hold you over while you sleep.  And sure, there are other nutrients we need to throw in…fiber, vitamins, etc.  When broken down like this, nutrition should be a piece of cake.

Well outside temptations…lets just say cake…get in the way.  So my perfectly defined runner’s diet breakdown, gets tossed out the window.   Ugh…why is sugar so good?  So I took a proactive approach…I downloaded the MyFitnessPal app which lets me track my food.  It also allows me to follow the specific nutrition elements I want to and what percentages I want them to be at (oh yeah, and calories!).  And you know what…I wasn’t doing half bad.  Sure some days were way out of whack, but the majority of my eating matched my intake goals.  Okay…this might be a little easier than I thought.

So in the cold, snowy month of February…my main goal now is to fix my eating.  I will do my fitness, but I will concentrate on food just a little bit more.  I foresee some inside time in the near future as snow and cold are in the forecast for at least a week…so I can make meal plans and plan shopping so I can succeed.  I will train right for this half-marathon……………I will, I will, I will!!

Leave a Reply

